Let’s talk about air quality data! Join us for Open Call on this topic every Tuesday until Dec. 14. Click here for details!


Public Lab Barnraisings

### What is a Barnraising? A Barnraising is an event hosted by the Public Lab community. In the spirit of bringing a community together to collectively raise a structure such as a barn, Barnraising participants come together to test environmental monitoring tools in the field, brainstorm new research projects, share about environmental concerns, and develop strategies to address them. At the event, with the support of facilitators, people collectively set the agenda, and participate and collaborate rather than just present, talk at, and listen. People attending a Barnraising can expect to: improve social ties through in-person collaboration, participate in deep exploration of local environmental issues and ongoing community research, advance technical knowledge, and work with hands-on projects for local environmental monitoring and documenting new monitoring methods. ## Host a Barnraising See our [Host a Barnraising](/barnraising-host) page to find more resources on hosting your own Barnraising event. **** ### Past Barnraisings: * [2019 Barnraising: Galveston & Houston, USA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-texas-2019) * [2018 Barnraising: Guangzhou, China](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china) * [2018 Crisis Convening & Barnraising, Newark, New Jersey](/barnraising-newark-2018) * [2017 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-2017) * [2017 Appalachia Barnraising](https://publiclab.org/wiki/appalachia-barnraising-2017) * [2016 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](wiki/barnraising-2016) * [2016 Regional Barnraising, Val Verde, CA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-val-verde-ca) * [2015 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2015) * [2015 Midwest Regional Barnraising: Chicago, Illinois](/wiki/2015-regional-barnraising) * [2014 Barnrasing: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2014) * [2014 Northeast Regional Barnraising: Plymouth, Massachusetts](/wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014) * [2013 Barnraising: New Orleans, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2013) * [2012 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2012) * [2011 Barnraising: Asheville, North Carolina](/wiki/barnraising-2011) [![The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/large/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg)](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/original/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg) [![BR-afterPostcard_0.jpg](/i/29579)](/i/29579) [![BarnRaisins-chrisFastie.jpg](/i/29580)](/i/29580) ...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Barnraising Texas 2019 /wiki/barnraising-texas-2019 over 1 year ago by liz 25 784 2
谷仓聚会 Barnraising Guangzhou, China /wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china almost 3 years ago by stevie 13 1,045 4
barnraising newark 2018 /wiki/barnraising-newark-2018 over 3 years ago by liz 7 512 0
Crisis Convening /wiki/crisis-convening over 3 years ago by devinb 1 441 2
Host a Barnraising 举办一个谷仓聚会 /wiki/barnraising-host about 3 years ago by shanlter 53 764 4
Barnraising 2017 /wiki/barnraising-2017 about 4 years ago by stevie 19 359 0
Appalachia Barnraising 2017 /wiki/appalachia-barnraising-2017 over 4 years ago by stevie 3 396 0
Barnraising Val Verde, CA /wiki/barnraising-val-verde-ca 10 months ago by warren 11 393 2
Barnraising 2015 /wiki/barnraising-2015 almost 5 years ago by warren 5 389 0
barnraising-21-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-21-2015-photos-liz about 6 years ago by liz 1 116 0
barnraising-20-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-20-2015-photos-liz about 6 years ago by liz 1 117 0
barnraising-19-2015-photos-dan /wiki/barnraising-19-2015-photos-dan about 6 years ago by danbeavers 1 163 0
barnraising-2015-photos-bronwen /wiki/barnraising-2015-photos-bronwen about 6 years ago by Bronwen 1 194 0
DOCCOM /wiki/doccom almost 3 years ago by warren 13 332 1
barnraising-19-2015-photos-liz /wiki/barnraising-19-2015-photos-liz about 6 years ago by liz 1 117 0
organizers-summit-2015-photos-liz /wiki/organizers-summit-2015-photos-liz about 6 years ago by liz 4 122 0
Barnraising 2015 Photos /wiki/barnraising-2015-photos about 6 years ago by liz 9 243 0
The Barnraiser /wiki/the-barnraiser over 2 years ago by warren 100 927 4
2015 Regional Barnraising /wiki/2015-regional-barnraising over 5 years ago by liz 10 449 2
barnraising-2014 /wiki/barnraising-2014 over 2 years ago by liz 18 506 3
barnraising-2014-photos /wiki/barnraising-2014-photos over 2 years ago by cfastie 32 276 7
Northeast Barnraising 2014 /wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014 about 7 years ago by Hudonnoodles 40 499 4
2014 Northeast Tool-focused Barnraising /wiki/potential-2014-northeast-tool-focused-barnraising over 7 years ago by Hudonnoodles 10 153 3
Barnraising Foodcom /wiki/barnraising-foodcom over 5 years ago by warren 17 161 0