Public Lab Barnraisings

### What is a Barnraising? A Barnraising is an event hosted by the Public Lab community. In the spirit of bringing a community together to collectively raise a structure such as a barn, Barnraising participants come together to test environmental monitoring tools in the field, brainstorm new research projects, share about environmental concerns, and develop strategies to address them. At the event, with the support of facilitators, people collectively set the agenda, and participate and collaborate rather than just present, talk at, and listen. People attending a Barnraising can expect to: improve social ties through in-person collaboration, participate in deep exploration of local environmental issues and ongoing community research, advance technical knowledge, and work with hands-on projects for local environmental monitoring and documenting new monitoring methods. ## Host a Barnraising See our [Host a Barnraising](/barnraising-host) page to find more resources on hosting your own Barnraising event. **** ### Past Barnraisings: * [2019 Barnraising: Galveston & Houston, USA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-texas-2019) * [2018 Barnraising: Guangzhou, China](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china) * [2018 Crisis Convening & Barnraising, Newark, New Jersey](/barnraising-newark-2018) * [2017 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-2017) * [2017 Appalachia Barnraising](https://publiclab.org/wiki/appalachia-barnraising-2017) * [2016 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](wiki/barnraising-2016) * [2016 Regional Barnraising, Val Verde, CA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-val-verde-ca) * [2015 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2015) * [2015 Midwest Regional Barnraising: Chicago, Illinois](/wiki/2015-regional-barnraising) * [2014 Barnrasing: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2014) * [2014 Northeast Regional Barnraising: Plymouth, Massachusetts](/wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014) * [2013 Barnraising: New Orleans, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2013) * [2012 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2012) * [2011 Barnraising: Asheville, North Carolina](/wiki/barnraising-2011) [![The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/large/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg)](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/original/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg) [![BR-afterPostcard_0.jpg](/i/29579)](/i/29579) [![BarnRaisins-chrisFastie.jpg](/i/29580)](/i/29580) ...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Barnraising 2011 /wiki/barnraising-2011 over 8 years ago by warren 1 417 1
Barnraising 2012 /wiki/barnraising-2012 over 8 years ago by liz 3 404 0
Barnraising 2013 /wiki/barnraising-2013 about 8 years ago by Shannon 72 736 6
2013 Barn Raising: Cocodrie, Louisiana /wiki/2013-barn-raising-cocodrie-louisiana over 8 years ago by warren 4 87 1
Barnraising Planning /wiki/barnraising-planning almost 8 years ago by liz 4 42 1
Barnstars /wiki/barnstars over 3 years ago by liz 113 1,542 83
Public Lab Barnraisings /barnraising over 1 year ago by joyofsoy 757 1,459 29
Past Public Lab Barnraisings /wiki/past-barnraisings almost 3 years ago by Bronwen 38 203 0