Wetlands

Wetlands are places that are saturated with water, either salt or fresh. Wetlands include areas on the edges of larger water bodies including lakes, oceans, bayous, rivers and deltas. There are also wetlands that are independent from bodies of water, but remain saturated seasonally or year around. You can read more about wetland types from [NOAA here ](https://oceanservice.noaa.gov/facts/wetland.html) and from the [EPA here](https://www.epa.gov/wetlands/what-wetland). ###Benefits of Wetlands Wetlands are beneficial for wildlife and human health for many reasons. They provide natural water filtration, storm protection, and flood control. They also support the breeding grounds for most aquatic life, and many bird species. ###The Destruction of Wetlands Wetlands are often destroyed in land development projects, harmed by pollution events from industry and susceptible to being destroyed with land subsidence and sea level rise. When wetlands are destroyed, the land is less able to absorb water. This causes communities to become more susceptible to flooding and storm surges. "Without wetlands, cities have to spend more money to treat water for their citizens, floods are more devastating to nearby communities, storm surges from hurricanes can penetrate farther inland, animals are displaced or die out, and food supplies are disrupted, along with livelihoods." Read more about the destruction of wetlands from [World Wildlife Fund here](https://www.worldwildlife.org/habitats/wetlands). ###How are wetlands protected? In the US, many states have regulations that help to protect wetlands. The Clean Water Act is the primary federal protection legislation, through it five federal agencies are charged with protecting various aspects of the wetland health, "The [Army] Corps' duties are related to navigation and water supply. The EPA's authorities are related to protecting wetlands primarily for their contributions to the chemical, physical, and biological integrity of the Nation's waters. The [Fish and Wildlife Services'] authorities are related to managing fish and wildlife-game species and threatened and endangered species. Wetland authority of NOAA lies in its charge to manage the Nation's coastal resources. The NRCS focuses on wetlands affected by agricultural activities." Read more on USGS's page on [legislation here](https://water.usgs.gov/nwsum/WSP2425/legislation.html). Federally and regionally there are many groups who work on wetland protections. You can read about how groups like [Healthy Gulf](https://www.healthygulf.org/our-work/defending-wetlands-2/stopping-wetlands-destruction) work to protect wetlands in places they are threatened such as Louisiana. ##Wetlands Monitoring Activities [activities:wetlands] ## Frequently Asked Questions [questions:wetlands] **** ## Updates [notes:wetlands!question:wetlands] **** ## Project Pages Here are some Public Lab projects that have been dedicated to the monitoring and protecting of wetlands: - The Barataria Mapping Project: https://publiclab.org/wiki/barataria-bay-mapping-project - The New Orleans Urban Water Mapping Project: https://publiclab.org/wiki/urban-waters-mapping-nola ###Wikis related to wetlands: [wikis:wetlands] ...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Wetlands /wiki/wetlands 3 months ago by bhamster 8 75 0
Madeira /wiki/madeira almost 3 years ago by warren 14 255 1
Wetlands project? Start here /wiki/wetlands-project-start-here about 5 years ago by liz 5 150 0
Wetlands remote sensing and management lesson plans /wiki/wetlands-lesson-plans over 5 years ago by Shannon 8 240 0
Lesson 1: Wetlands, Water, & Oil curricular standards /wiki/lesson-1-wetlands-water-oil-curricular-standards over 5 years ago by Shannon 5 217 0
wetlands-advocacy /wiki/wetlands-advocacy about 5 years ago by gretchengehrke 13 156 0
Stitching Images into Maps /wiki/stitching-images-into-maps over 3 years ago by warren 14 1,088 5
Understanding your wetland site /wiki/wetlands-101 over 4 years ago by liz 34 200 5
Wetlands Toolkit /wiki/wetlands-toolkit almost 5 years ago by gretchengehrke 19 2,139 15
Open Land /wiki/open-land over 4 years ago by eustatic 3 174 1
Tracking recreated wetlands in Jamaica Bay: Gena Wirth and the Dredge Collaborative /wiki/tracking-recreated-wetlands-in-jamaica-bay-gena-wirth-and-the-dredge-collaborative over 5 years ago by mollydanielsson 2 162 0
Public Lab Lesson 3: Photography in a New Light /wiki/public-lab-lesson-3-photography-in-a-new-light over 5 years ago by gretchengehrke 15 1,007 5
Public Lab Lesson 2: More Than Meets the Eye /wiki/public-lab-lesson-2-more-than-meets-the-eye over 5 years ago by gretchengehrke 11 515 0
Public Lab Lesson 1: Wetlands, Water, & Oil /wiki/lesson-1-wetlands-water-oil over 5 years ago by gretchengehrke 12 977 2
Urban Waters Mapping, NOLA /wiki/urban-waters-mapping-nola over 3 years ago by stevie 84 611 4
Barataria Bay Mapping Project /wiki/barataria-bay-mapping-project 11 months ago by warren 43 781 2
Infragram /wiki/infragram 5 months ago by liz 116 15,128 17