Want to talk about soil contamination? Join us on any Tuesday Open Call in February and March. We'll kick-off a research area review on this topic on Feb. 2! Click here for details on how to join!


Somerville, Massachusetts

_Image above by @liz_ Our work in Somerville is developing in partnership with [Parts and Crafts](http://partsandcrafts.org). Somerville is also home to [Sprout](http://thesprouts.org) and the Boston-area Dorkbot chapter. ##Projects## In Somerville, we've been interested in * measuring vegetation health using [near-infrared cameras](/tool/near-infrared-camera) * detecting heat leaks with cheap, DIY [thermal photography](/tool/thermal-photography), allowing for better winterization and heating bill savings * investigating waste flows, such as where our trash goes -- with Pablo Rey from [Basurama.org](http://basurama.org) * check out this map of a [landfill in Saugus, MA](https://mapknitter.org/map/view/saugus-incinerator-landfill) which we made in late 2011 * improving the [DIY spectrometer](/tool/spectrometer) for investigating oil and tar contamination (mainly for use at the [Gowanus Canal](/place/new-york-city) and along the [Gulf Coast](/place/gulf-coast) <iframe style="border:none;" width="500" height="375" src="https://archive.publiclab.org/leaflet/?tms=https://archive.publiclab.org/saugus/2011-10-10-massachusetts-saugus/tms/&lon=-70.98819460855&lat=42.4390999158&zoom=16"></iframe> *Above: a kite map of the Saugus incinerator ash landfill, where most of the Boston area's trash ends up.* We occasionally have meetups at the Pirateship, so get in touch [on the mailing list](/wiki/mailing-lists) if you're interested in participating in or organizing a local meetup. At Parts & Crafts, we've been doing occasional workshops building [spectrometers](/tool/spectrometer), [infrared cameras](/tool/near-infrared-camera), such as the one used to take this photograph: ###Tool sharing Folks on the local **plots-boston** discussion list often lend and borrow Public Lab kits and other resources. To request a kit, or help with a kit from other local members, please email the list -- you can sign up in the upper left. To offer resources borrowing, please add your name and the available tool below: * DIY Spectrometer: [warren](/profile/warren), [kgradow1](/profile/kgradow1) * Kites (9-foot & 7-foot): [warren](/profile/warren), [kgradow1](/profile/kgradow1) * Balloon Mapping kits: [warren](/profile/warren) * Space for events: [kgradow1](/profile/kgradow1) * [Infragram](/wiki/infragram) cameras: [warren](/profile/warren) Other things are often available, so please ask on the list if you're wondering! **** ##Pollution reports Nearby pollution issues (by [SkyTruth Alerts](http://alerts.skytruth.org/)): <iframe width="960" height="650" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="https://alerts.skytruth.org/embed?l=42.2788,-71.2071,42.4437,-70.9667"></iframe>...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Thermal Fishing Bob Workshop Northeastern /wiki/thermal-fishing-bob-workshop-northeastern over 5 years ago by kgrevera 5 240 5
Mystic River /wiki/mystic-river almost 7 years ago by donblair 72 457 0
Toolshed Raising 02-02-14 /wiki/toolshed-raising-02-02-14 about 7 years ago by kgradow1 9 220 0
Boston Toolshed Raising 2013-2014 /wiki/boston-toolshed-raising-2014 about 7 years ago by sara 10 168 2
March Mapping Madness-Boston /wiki/march-mapping-madness-boston almost 9 years ago by warren 9 143 2
Somerville, Massachusetts /wiki/somerville-massachusetts over 4 years ago by warren 24 512 3