We’re talking about organizing and maps! Join us on Open Call on May 11 to kick-off this topic and then every Tuesday through June. Click here for call-in details!


Public Lab Barnraisings

### What is a Barnraising? A Barnraising is an event hosted by the Public Lab community. In the spirit of bringing a community together to collectively raise a structure such as a barn, Barnraising participants come together to test environmental monitoring tools in the field, brainstorm new research projects, share about environmental concerns, and develop strategies to address them. At the event, with the support of facilitators, people collectively set the agenda, and participate and collaborate rather than just present, talk at, and listen. People attending a Barnraising can expect to: improve social ties through in-person collaboration, participate in deep exploration of local environmental issues and ongoing community research, advance technical knowledge, and work with hands-on projects for local environmental monitoring and documenting new monitoring methods. <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/R1pHFJafkGs" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe> ## Host a Barnraising See our [Host a Barnraising](/barnraising-host) page to find more resources on hosting your own Barnraising event. **** ### Past Barnraisings: * [2019 Barnraising: Galveston & Houston, USA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-texas-2019) * [2018 Barnraising: Guangzhou, China](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china) * [2018 Crisis Convening & Barnraising, Newark, New Jersey](/barnraising-newark-2018) * [2017 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-2017) * [2017 Appalachia Barnraising](https://publiclab.org/wiki/appalachia-barnraising-2017) * [2016 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](wiki/barnraising-2016) * [2016 Regional Barnraising, Val Verde, CA](https://publiclab.org/wiki/barnraising-val-verde-ca) * [2015 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2015) * [2015 Midwest Regional Barnraising: Chicago, Illinois](/wiki/2015-regional-barnraising) * [2014 Barnrasing: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2014) * [2014 Northeast Regional Barnraising: Plymouth, Massachusetts](/wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014) * [2013 Barnraising: New Orleans, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2013) * [2012 Barnraising: Cocodrie, Louisiana](/wiki/barnraising-2012) * [2011 Barnraising: Asheville, North Carolina](/wiki/barnraising-2011) [![The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/large/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg)](//i.publiclab.org/system/images/photos/000/016/690/original/The_Barnraiser_--_Regional_Special_Issue_2016.jpg) [![BR-afterPostcard_0.jpg](/i/29579)](/i/29579) [![BarnRaisins-chrisFastie.jpg](/i/29580)](/i/29580) ...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Barnraising Texas 2019 /wiki/barnraising-texas-2019 about 1 year ago by liz 25 724 2
谷仓聚会 Barnraising Guangzhou, China /wiki/barnraising-guangzhou-china over 2 years ago by stevie 13 953 4
barnraising newark 2018 /wiki/barnraising-newark-2018 over 2 years ago by liz 7 457 0
Crisis Convening /wiki/crisis-convening almost 3 years ago by devinb 1 385 2
Host a Barnraising 举办一个谷仓聚会 /wiki/barnraising-host over 2 years ago by shanlter 53 710 4
Barnraising 2015 /wiki/barnraising-2015 about 4 years ago by warren 5 348 0
DOCCOM /wiki/doccom about 2 years ago by warren 13 303 1
barnraising-2014 /wiki/barnraising-2014 about 2 years ago by liz 18 415 3
Northeast Barnraising 2014 /wiki/barnraising-northeast-2014 over 6 years ago by Hudonnoodles 40 432 4
Barnraising 2013 /wiki/barnraising-2013 over 7 years ago by Shannon 72 634 6