Updates on Hurricane Ida? Join us for Open Call every Tuesday at 2pm Central Time Click here for call-in details!

Public Lab Research note


EVENT: Wondering about Wastewater? Join us for a series of events to wrap up Public Lab’s latest research area review!

by bhamster , alejobonifacio | September 14, 2021 15:06 14 Sep 15:06 | #27723 | #27723

Lead image: Along the Suquía River in Córdoba, Argentina. From this comment by @alejobonifacio, CC BY SA


At the end of September, we'll have several events featuring wastewater community science:

  • a presentation on wastewater monitoring methods + community discussion,
  • a call with guest speakers actively working on wastewater-related projects.
  • a live build of the community microscope.

Details and call links for each event are below!



💧 Presentation on wastewater monitoring methods + community discussion

When: Wednesday, September 29, 8am PT / 10am CT / 11am ET / 3pm UTC / other time zones. This event will run for approximately 2 hours with a 15 min break in the middle.

Where: Join wastewater presentation Zoom meeting

What:

  • 0 - 45 mins: We'll share highlights from the latest research area review on wastewater, focusing on activities that people can do to get started with monitoring wastewater pollution in their communities. With @bhamster.
  • 45 - 60 mins: Break
  • 60 - 120 mins: Open and facilitated community discussion time with @alejobonifacio. Join us to share your ideas and questions, exchange tips and stories, and meet others who are interested in wastewater and water quality.



🎤 Community scientists with wastewater projects: guest speakers

When: Wednesday, September 29, 11am PT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET / 6pm UTC / other time zones. This event will run for approximately 1 hour.

Where: Join guest speaker Zoom meeting

What: From the Guadarrama River in Spain to the Suquía River in Argentina, @imvec and @alejobonifacio will talk about their individual projects monitoring the impacts of water treatment plants on river water quality.



🔬 Live build of the community microscope

When: Friday, October 1, 10am PT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET / 5pm UTC / other time zones. This event will run for approximately 1 hour.

Where: Join live build Zoom meeting

What: ​​We'll be building one of these DIY microscopes and showing how you can use it to see aquatic insects in water quality monitoring! With @fongvania, @alejobonifacio, and @bhamster.



Who are these events for?

Anyone who has a concern about wastewater pollution in their community. People who are interested in learning about wastewater and looking for resources and a supportive community might find this call especially helpful.



Thinking about joining these events? Please RSVP using the blue button below! And follow the wastewater and water-quality tags to get the latest news about this event and other related posts on Public Lab.

Follow Wastewater
Follow Water-quality


This event is on 09-29-2021 iCal


Please log in to RSVP


2 Comments

@bhamster has marked @alejobonifacio as a co-author.

Reply to this comment...


Wow!!! I'm absolutely going to be there ;)

Reply to this comment...


Login to comment.