Let’s talk about air quality data! Join us for Open Call on Oct. 26 to kick-off this topic and then every Tuesday until Dec. 14. Click here for call-in details!


Stormwater Monitoring

Stormwater is excess runoff from rain and snowmelt events that flows over land or impervious surfaces, such as paved streets, parking lots, and building rooftops, and does not soak into the ground. Some of the concerns around stormwater are that "the runoff picks up pollutants like trash, chemicals, oils, and dirt/sediment that can harm our rivers, streams, lakes, and coastal waters" -- and human health. [Source: EPA Stormwater Program](https://www.epa.gov/npdes/npdes-stormwater-program) _Lead image from Dr. Gloria Horning's [work](/notes/joyofsoy/11-09-2018/fighting-the-flood-community-activism-and-education-in-pensacola)_ ### How is stormwater regulated? Stormwater is one of the pollutants that is regulated under the [National Pollution Discharge Elimination System](https://www.epa.gov/npdes) (NPDES). "The NPDES stormwater program regulates some stormwater discharges from three potential sources: municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s), construction activities, and industrial activities." ### How is stormwater monitored? Monitoring for stormwater can be challenging. Monitoring activities could explore facets of stormwater such as: - The depth and duration of standing water in an area, - How much rainwater can be harvested from an area, - How much water can be absorbed by an area, - How different ground covers react to stormwater events, and - How well infrastructure is working to handle stormwater runoff. This page was created to compile some activities, questions, updates and projects surrounding issues of stormwater. Click the links below to add to this growing resource! ## Stormwater Activities [notes:grid:activity:stormwater] ### Frequently Asked Questions [questions:stormwater] **** ## Updates [notes:stormwater!question:stormwater] **** ## Project Pages - 2018 [Pensacola Stormwater Project](https://publiclab.org/wiki/pensacola-stormwater-project) - 2017 [New Orleans Stormwater Workshop Series](https://publiclab.org/notes/stevie/02-01-2017/stormwater-workshop-series-in-new-orleans) - 2016 [New Orleans Flood Sensing Project ](https://publiclab.org/wiki/depth-flood-sensing-in-new-orleans)** _Lead image from [Commons Wikimedia](https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Stormwater_culvert_along_Dobney_Ave.jpg)_ ...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Wastewater /wiki/wastewater 24 days ago by bhamster 2 26 0
Detecting wastewater pollution /wiki/detecting-wastewater 25 days ago by bhamster 3 33 1
Topics /wiki/topics 15 days ago by bhamster 22 7,609 3
Pensacola Stormwater Project /wiki/pensacola-stormwater-project over 3 years ago by stevie 6 219 1
New Orleans Stormwater Photo Upload /wiki/new-orleans-stormwater-photo-upload about 4 years ago by warren 1 110 0
New Orleans Stormwater Project Data /wiki/new-orleans-stormwater-project-data over 2 years ago by stevie 10 311 2
NPDES /wiki/npdes over 4 years ago by warren 17 487 0
Stormwater Monitoring /wiki/stormwater 12 months ago by liz 32 1,530 3
Flooding and Stormwater Project in New Orleans /wiki/depth-flood-sensing-in-new-orleans over 4 years ago by stevie 15 432 3
Water Quality Primer with Jeff Walker /wiki/water-quality-primer-with-jeff-walker over 7 years ago by kanarinka 4 522 3