Indoor Air Quality

Much of our lives is spent indoors where we live, work, and play. What is in the air we breathe indoors affects our health and quality of life. Some common pollutants that could be present in indoor air include carbon monoxide, radon, mold, asbestos, formaldehyde, and other volatile organic compounds (VOCs). A number of projects on Public Lab have explored indoor air quality, monitoring and remediation. Check out the materials below, follow the tag indoor-air-quality and add your materials to this topic. ### Questions [questions:indoor-air-quality] ### Activities [activities:indoor-air-quality] ### Research notes [notes:indoor-air-quality!question:indoor-air-quality] ### Wikis All wiki pages relating to air quality: [wikis:indoor-air-quality] ### Regulations on indoor air quality #### Federal regulations Many of us spend a large portion of our time indoors, and yet indoor air quality remains largely unregulated at the federal level in the US [[1](https://www.epa.gov/regulatory-information-topic/regulatory-information-topic-air#indoorair)]. For office buildings and other workplaces, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration sets rules on ventilation and some air pollutants [[2](https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/indoorairquality/)], but there are no federal regulatory standards on indoor air quality for these spaces. In addition, the air we breathe inside our schools [[3](https://www.epa.gov/iaq-schools/are-schools-required-follow-epas-iaq-tools-schools-guidance)], homes, and apartment buildings also lacks federal air quality standards, leaving individual states to set their own rules. Sources: 1. [https://www.epa.gov/regulatory-information-topic/regulatory-information-topic-air#indoorair](https://www.epa.gov/regulatory-information-topic/regulatory-information-topic-air#indoorair) 2. [https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/indoorairquality/ ](https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/indoorairquality/) 3. [https://www.epa.gov/iaq-schools/are-schools-required-follow-epas-iaq-tools-schools-guidance](https://www.epa.gov/iaq-schools/are-schools-required-follow-epas-iaq-tools-schools-guidance) #### Local, tribal, or state regulations The Environmental Law Institute maintains a searchable database of indoor air quality laws in individual US states here:<br> [https://www.eli.org/buildings/database-state-indoor-air-quality-laws](https://www.eli.org/buildings/database-state-indoor-air-quality-laws) The US Environmental Protection Agency provides links to state, tribal, and regional indoor air quality programs here: <br> [https://www.epa.gov/indoor-air-quality-iaq/epa-regional-office-and-state-indoor-air-quality-information ](https://www.epa.gov/indoor-air-quality-iaq/epa-regional-office-and-state-indoor-air-quality-information)...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
SmART-Form /wiki/smart-form over 2 years ago by gretchengehrke 14 480 4
Formaldehyde /wiki/formaldehyde about 3 years ago by gretchengehrke 5 317 1
BioBroth Bubbler /wiki/biobroth-bubbler over 3 years ago by warren 3 617 0
Massachusetts Indoor Air /wiki/massachusetts-indoor-air about 4 years ago by gretchengehrke 1 193 0
Oklahoma Indoor Air /wiki/oklahoma-indoor-air about 4 years ago by gretchengehrke 2 120 0
Vermont Indoor Air /wiki/vermont-indoor-air about 4 years ago by gretchengehrke 7 272 1
Formaldehyde Test Kit /wiki/formaldehyde-test-kit almost 5 years ago by mathew 23 3,372 9
Formaldehyde Exposure /wiki/formaldehyde-exposure over 4 years ago by nshapiro 42 1,138 5
Indoor Air Quality Monitoring & Mitigation /wiki/indoor-air-quality-monitoring about 5 years ago by liz 48 1,279 12
Roomba Air Quality Monitoring /wiki/roomba-air-quality-monitoring over 5 years ago by Shannon 2 321 1
Indoor Air Quality /wiki/indoor-air-quality 4 months ago by bhamster 8 124 0
WhereWeBreathe /wiki/wherewebreathe about 5 years ago by liz 24 529 6
Air Quality Class /wiki/air-quality-class over 1 year ago by warren 60 332 3