'organizers' by vjpixel

###Overview### **Public Lab organizers** are community members who are leaders in the Public Lab community, and have an interest in the way our community collaborates and grows. Typically but not exclusively, these are people who are both key organizers in their local communities as well as key contributors to the broader Public Lab community through work on things such as the website and communications. Organizers often [host events](/wiki/developing-and-running-public-lab-workshop) or [moderate discussion lists](/wiki/moderators), and help shepherd the Public Lab community in other ways. The organizers list is always expanding; anyone can be nominated or nominate themselves, [see below](#how+to+join) for how to join. **Currently there are 75 organizers from 12 countries:** ###Resources for organizers The **Public Lab organizers group** serves to connect organizers with each other and enable collaboration on overarching initiatives and other topics related to broad Public Lab community development rather than simply research (which is discussed on the <a href="https://groups.google.com/group/publiclaboratory">main Public Lab list</a>). Organizers communicate on a google group and through open weekly calls to collaborate with each other and the non-profit. Organizers are able to add events to the <a href="http://publiclab.org/events">/events calendar</a> and access resources such as printed materials, event support and project support. ###How to join **Before you apply:** The organizer's group runs on a nomination process (follow the steps below to apply to the group). Nominations require that two organizers second your application. In this process, organizers look for: * your involvement in Public Lab online or in person, * your individual contributions to the community (ie: working on the wiki, facilitating a local group on Public Lab projects, answering people on the [discussion lists](https://publiclab.org/wiki/mailing-lists) etc.) * that you embrace Public Lab's work and exploration, and * that you will contribute to the activity and diversity of the organizer's group. **How to apply** * Make sure that your publiclab.org profile page is filled out with with a bio, ideally highlighting your interests and work in the Public Lab community. * Email your profile link to organizers@publiclab.org, including: your request to be nominated, a few words on how the Public Lab's methods and tools contributed to your work and explorations, and links to one or more research notes you've created. * You will either be contacted by an existing organizer to followup or you may simply receive a "Welcome to the organizers list" email. ###The Organizer's Handbook The [Organizer's Handbook](http://publiclab.org/wiki/organizers-handbook) includes resources, benefits, and responsibilities of being a Public Lab organizer. ###Active Members * [Jackie James-Creedon](https://publiclab.org/profile/JackieJamesCreedon) (Tonawanda, NY) * [Eymund Diegel](https://publiclab.org/profile/eymund) (Brooklyn, NY) * [Leslie Birch](https://publiclab.org/profile/zengirl2) (Philadelphia, PA) * [Mary Kenosian](http://publiclab.org/profile/marlokeno) (Eau Claire, WI) * [Patrick Hixenbaugh](https://publiclab.org/profile/pdhixenbaugh) (Rockville, MD) * [Sara Sage](https://publiclab.org/profile/sarasage) (Los Angeles, CA) * [Klie Kliebert](https://publiclab.org/profile/klie) (New Orleans, LA) * [Shan He](https://publiclab.org/profile/shanlter) (Guangzhou, China) * [Laura Chipley](https://publiclab.org/profile/LauraChipley) (New York, NY) * [Claudia Martinez Mansell](http://publiclab.org/profile/clauds) (LA & Bourj Al Shamali, Lebanon) * [Pat Popple](http://publiclab.org/profile/Pat) (Chippewa Falls, WI) * [Maria del Carmen Lamadrid](http://publiclab.org/profile/mlamadrid) (Los Angeles, CA) * [Nick Shapiro](/profile/nshapiro) (Philadelphia, PA) * [Gretchen Gehrke](/profile/gretchengehrke) (Durham, NC) * [Ann Chen](http://publiclab.org/profile/ann) (Alberta, Canada) * [VJ pixel](/profile/vjpixel) (Brazil) * [Benjamin Sugar](/profile/bsugar) (Atlanta, GA) * [Stevie Lewis](/profile/stevie) (New Orleans, LA) * [Jack Summers](/profile/jsummers) (Cullowhee, NC) * [Katie Gradowski](/profile/kgradow1) (Somerville, MA) * [Catherine D'Ignazio](/profile/kanarinka) (Waltham, MA) * [Bronwen Densmore](/profile/bronwen) (Brooklyn, NY) * [Willie Shubert](/profile/willie) (Washington, DC) * [Nicholas Johnson](/profile/nicholas) (New York City) * [Dana Bauer](/profile/geography76) (Philadelphia) * [Becki Chall](/profile/becki) (Portland, OR) * [Dan Beavers](/profile/danbeavers) (Mississippi) * [Pablo Rey](/profile/pablo) (Bilbao, Spain) * Sylvia Broude (Boston) * [Hagit Keysar](/profile/hagitkeysar) (Jerusalem) * [Cindy Regalado](/profile/Cindy_ExCites) (London) * [Ricardo Abad](/profile/ricabad) (Mato Grosso Brasil) * [Juan Pablo Torrente](/profile/juan) (Asturias / León, Spain) * [Ned Horning](/profile/nedhorning) (Vermont) * [Scott Eustis](/profile/eustatic) (New Orleans) * [Chris Fastie](/profile/cfastie) (Middlebury, Vermont) * Gabriel Jaime Vanegas (Bogota, Colombia) * [Jessi Breen](/profile/jbreen) (Lexington, KY) * [Pat Coyle](/profile/patcoyle) (Livermore, CA) * [Ives Rocha](/profile/ives) (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) * [Anita Chan](/profile/anita) (Lima, Peru and Champaign-Urbana, IL) * [Jen Hudon](/profile/hudonnoodles) (Greater Boston area) * [Shannon Dosemagen](/profile/shannon) (New Orleans) * [Sara Wylie](/profile/sara) (Boston) * [Mathew Lippincott](/profile/mathew) (Portland, OR) * [Liz Barry](/profile/liz) (New York City) * [Jeff Warren](/profile/warren) (Somerville, MA) ###Inactive Members The organizers group recognizes that, at times, the responsibilities of being a Public Lab organizer fall behind other demands. Organizers can, at any point, define their status as active or inactive as their commitments and activity in the group changes. * [Stewart Long](/profile/gonzoearth) (Oakland, CA) * Will Macfarlane (Somerville, MA) * [Sean McGinnis](/profile/SeanKMcGinnis) (DC, formerly New Jersey/Philly) * [Adam Griffith](/profile/adam-griffith) (Asheville, NC) * [Matt Pendergraft](/profile/Matt_P/) (San Diego, CA) * [Karen Vale](/profile/karenv) (Plymouth, MA) * [Bryan Bonvallet](/profile/btbonval) (West Palm Beach, FL) * [Stu Williams](/profile/straylight) (Australia) * [Diana Di Leonardo](https://publiclab.org/profile/ddileona) (New Orleans, LA) * [Michelle Schmitt](/profile/manetomapping) (Philadelphia, PA) * [Don Blair](/profile/donblair) (Amherst, MA) * Mathew Xi (Oakland, CA) * [Hunter Daniels](/profile/hunter) (New Orleans) * [Victor Sinatra](http://publiclab.org/profile/Ecta64) (Salinas, CA) * [Lauren Sullivan](http://publiclab.org/profile/laurenrae) (Los Angeles, CA) * [Justin Manley](/profile/justinmanley) (Chicago, IL) * [Will Ward](/profile/wward1400) (Nashville, TN, formerly Boston area) * [Melissa Nunes](/profile/MelissaN) (Vancouver, Canada) * [Alex Stoicof](/profile/astoicof) (New Orleans) * [Oscar Brett](/profile/oscarbrett) (New York, New Orleans) * [Shai Efrati](/profile/shaief) (Tel Aviv) * [Michele Tobias](/profile/MicheleTobias) (Davis, CA) * [Natasia Sidarta](/profile/natasia) (New York City) * [Kalyn Rosenberg](/profile/KalynRosenberg) (Mexico City) * Eric Kugler (New Orleans) * [Philip Silva](/profile/p_silva_82) (Ithaca, New York City) * [Gena Wirth](/profile/gwirth) (New York City) * [Lela Prashad](/profile/lprashad) (New York City) ###Past Nominations To view old nominations in full, see http://publiclab.org/wiki/organizers-nominations ###Origins Formative research note on this topic http://publiclab.org/notes/shannon/4-26-2012/list-plots-organizers

Notes on organizers by vjpixel

by views by likes


Public Lab is open for anyone and will always be free. By signing up you'll join a diverse group of community researchers and tap into a lot of grassroots expertise.

Sign up