Let’s talk about air quality data! Join us for Open Call on Oct. 26 to kick-off this topic and then every Tuesday until Dec. 14. Click here for call-in details!


MapKnitter

*Part of the [Grassroots Mapping Curriculum](/wiki/mapping-curriculum) series.* MapKnitter is a free and open source tool for combining aerial images into a map, or composite image. Informally, we call this "stitching a map" and it's useful if you have many images of overlapping or identical areas, and getting either a web map or a printable map from your photos. <iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/0h6MBH6f2js?rel=0&amp;showinfo=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> MapKnitter can make maps from any image source, but it was designed for making maps with aerial photos from balloons and kites. Start using [MapKnitter.org](http://MapKnitter.org) or read on for more documentation! ## Exporting Once you're map is complete, you can download it as a single image in JPG and other formats. Read about the new Cloud exporter here: https://publiclab.org/wiki/mapknitter-cloud-exporter Learn more about [exporting maps in MapKnitter here](/mapknitter-exporting). ## Activities [activities:mapknitter] **** ## Questions [questions:mapknitter] **** ### Advanced * [Decisions with distortions](https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=S8uUM3p3_Bk#!) - Learn about the design process of stitching maps when images are highly distorted or include tall buildings. This tutorial is in Photoshop, but the techniques are applicable to MapKnitter as well. * [Infrared multispectral compositing](/wiki/mapknitter-multispectral) (no video, in progress) Learn how to combine an infrared dataset with your map to assess photosynthesis. (Also: learn [how to collect infrared imagery](/tool/near-infrared-camera)) ...

Follow
Learn more »

Title URL Last edited Edits Page Views Likes
Software overview /wiki/software-overview 11 months ago by warren 7 219 5
MapKnitter Cloud Exporter /wiki/mapknitter-cloud-exporter over 1 year ago by warren 10 360 2
Stitching Images into Maps /wiki/stitching-images-into-maps over 4 years ago by warren 14 1,685 5
MapKnitter Leaflet /wiki/mapknitter-leaflet almost 7 years ago by warren 4 127 2
MapKnitter Long-Term Development /wiki/mapknitter-long-term-development about 7 years ago by justinmanley 5 206 4
Local to Global: MapKnitter Club to a Cartography Collective /wiki/local-to-global-mapknitter-club-to-a-cartography-collective about 7 years ago by mollydanielsson 2 256 2
MapKnitter Auto-placement /wiki/mapknitter-auto-placement over 7 years ago by warren 1 187 3
Software /wiki/software 11 months ago by liz 7 1,053 4
Public Lab Cartography Collective /wiki/public-lab-cartography-collective over 4 years ago by liz 23 391 4
MapKnitter: Exporting /wiki/mapknitter-exporting-your-map over 1 year ago by warren 16 989 4
MapKnitter Help /wiki/mapknitter-help over 7 years ago by warren 16 301 0
MapKnitter /wiki/mapknitter over 1 year ago by warren 36 13,082 6