Public Lab organizers
organizers

###Overview### Public Lab values healthy feedback loops, collaboration systems, and the active facilitation it takes to work on challenging environmental justice issues together. The Public Lab community is filled with many types of leaders sharing their learned and lived expertise in this space. Community organizers working on the ground--those who help collate information, coordinate events, facilitate discussions, contribute to tool development, and exercise their platforms to elevate the stories of those most affected by environmental injustice--these are the organizers and leaders of Public Lab. Interested in supporting the organizing of Public Lab? Add a link to your profile below and follow the tag "organizers" to help support the community. Subscribe to the Organizers tag here --------- ###History: Between 2012 and 2016 Public Lab was actively supported by a group of individual community members who acted as leaders and shared an interest in the way the community collaborates and grows. With the aspirations of growing the diversity of contributors who could bring new voices forward, in 2017 Public Lab shifted to hosting a weekly [open public call](https://publiclab.org/wiki/open-call). Moving away from a closed organizers group curated through an application process, to more open and less rigid structure allowed for different types of feedback and work come to the surface and support a growing community. ###Active Organizers * [Jackie James-Creedon](https://publiclab.org/profile/JackieJamesCreedon) (Tonawanda, NY) * [Eymund Diegel](https://publiclab.org/profile/eymund) (Brooklyn, NY) * [Leslie Birch](https://publiclab.org/profile/zengirl2) (Philadelphia, PA) * [Mary Kenosian](http://publiclab.org/profile/marlokeno) (Eau Claire, WI) * [Patrick Hixenbaugh](https://publiclab.org/profile/pdhixenbaugh) (Rockville, MD) * [Sara Sage](https://publiclab.org/profile/sarasage) (Los Angeles, CA) * [Klie Kliebert](https://publiclab.org/profile/klie) (New Orleans, LA) * [Shan He](https://publiclab.org/profile/shanlter) (Guangzhou, China) * [Laura Chipley](https://publiclab.org/profile/LauraChipley) (New York, NY) * [Claudia Martinez Mansell](http://publiclab.org/profile/clauds) (LA & Bourj Al Shamali, Lebanon) * [Pat Popple](http://publiclab.org/profile/Pat) (Chippewa Falls, WI) * [Maria del Carmen Lamadrid](http://publiclab.org/profile/mlamadrid) (Los Angeles, CA) * [Nick Shapiro](/profile/nshapiro) (Philadelphia, PA) * [Gretchen Gehrke](/profile/gretchengehrke) (Durham, NC) * [Ann Chen](http://publiclab.org/profile/ann) (Alberta, Canada) * [VJ pixel](/profile/vjpixel) (Brazil) * [Benjamin Sugar](/profile/bsugar) (Atlanta, GA) * [Stevie Lewis](/profile/stevie) (New Orleans, LA) * [Jack Summers](/profile/jsummers) (Cullowhee, NC) * [Katie Gradowski](/profile/kgradow1) (Somerville, MA) * [Catherine D'Ignazio](/profile/kanarinka) (Waltham, MA) * [Bronwen Densmore](/profile/bronwen) (Brooklyn, NY) * [Willie Shubert](/profile/willie) (Washington, DC) * [Nicholas Johnson](/profile/nicholas) (New York City) * [Dana Bauer](/profile/geography76) (Philadelphia) * [Becki Chall](/profile/becki) (Portland, OR) * [Dan Beavers](/profile/danbeavers) (Mississippi) * [Pablo Rey](/profile/pablo) (Bilbao, Spain) * Sylvia Broude (Boston) * [Hagit Keysar](/profile/hagitkeysar) (Jerusalem) * [Cindy Regalado](/profile/Cindy_ExCites) (London) * [Ricardo Abad](/profile/ricabad) (Mato Grosso Brasil) * [Juan Pablo Torrente](/profile/juan) (Asturias / León, Spain) * [Ned Horning](/profile/nedhorning) (Vermont) * [Scott Eustis](/profile/eustatic) (New Orleans) * [Chris Fastie](/profile/cfastie) (Middlebury, Vermont) * Gabriel Jaime Vanegas (Bogota, Colombia) * [Jessi Breen](/profile/jbreen) (Lexington, KY) * [Pat Coyle](/profile/patcoyle) (Livermore, CA) * [Ives Rocha](/profile/ives) (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) * [Anita Chan](/profile/anita) (Lima, Peru and Champaign-Urbana, IL) * [Jen Hudon](/profile/hudonnoodles) (Greater Boston area) * [Shannon Dosemagen](/profile/shannon) (New Orleans) * [Sara Wylie](/profile/sara) (Boston) * [Mathew Lippincott](/profile/mathew) (Portland, OR) * [Liz Barry](/profile/liz) (New York City) * [Jeff Warren](/profile/warren) (Somerville, MA) ###Inactive Members The organizers group recognizes that, at times, the responsibilities of being a Public Lab organizer fall behind other demands. Organizers can, at any point, define their status as active or inactive as their commitments and activity in the group changes. * [Stewart Long](/profile/gonzoearth) (Oakland, CA) * Will Macfarlane (Somerville, MA) * [Sean McGinnis](/profile/SeanKMcGinnis) (DC, formerly New Jersey/Philly) * [Adam Griffith](/profile/adam-griffith) (Asheville, NC) * [Matt Pendergraft](/profile/Matt_P/) (San Diego, CA) * [Karen Vale](/profile/karenv) (Plymouth, MA) * [Bryan Bonvallet](/profile/btbonval) (West Palm Beach, FL) * [Stu Williams](/profile/straylight) (Australia) * [Diana Di Leonardo](https://publiclab.org/profile/ddileona) (New Orleans, LA) * [Michelle Schmitt](/profile/manetomapping) (Philadelphia, PA) * [Don Blair](/profile/donblair) (Amherst, MA) * Mathew Xi (Oakland, CA) * [Hunter Daniels](/profile/hunter) (New Orleans) * [Victor Sinatra](http://publiclab.org/profile/Ecta64) (Salinas, CA) * [Lauren Sullivan](http://publiclab.org/profile/laurenrae) (Los Angeles, CA) * [Justin Manley](/profile/justinmanley) (Chicago, IL) * [Will Ward](/profile/wward1400) (Nashville, TN, formerly Boston area) * [Melissa Nunes](/profile/MelissaN) (Vancouver, Canada) * [Alex Stoicof](/profile/astoicof) (New Orleans) * [Oscar Brett](/profile/oscarbrett) (New York, New Orleans) * [Shai Efrati](/profile/shaief) (Tel Aviv) * [Michele Tobias](/profile/MicheleTobias) (Davis, CA) * [Natasia Sidarta](/profile/natasia) (New York City) * [Kalyn Rosenberg](/profile/KalynRosenberg) (Mexico City) * Eric Kugler (New Orleans) * [Philip Silva](/profile/p_silva_82) (Ithaca, New York City) * [Gena Wirth](/profile/gwirth) (New York City) * [Lela Prashad](/profile/lprashad) (New York City) ###Past Nominations To view old nominations in full, see http://publiclab.org/wiki/organizers-nominations ###Origins Formative research note on this topic http://publiclab.org/notes/shannon/4-26-2012/list-plots-organizers...


Author Comment Last activity Moderation
warren "Here's a link to the template I made: https://rawgit.com/jywarren/b98899a55822bd6756ae747a0d4dfc89/raw/1d195521653f04037ed0fff11bbfaf59a1bc483b/ind..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "I tried it. You get an HTML download upon entering your email address (or maybe any email address). https://gist.github.com/jywarren/b98899a55822b..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "Froala also has a "webpage design tool" where you can drag and drop their blocks, kind of awesome! https://www.froala.com/design-blocks/webpage-bu..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "@liz @stevie - after the diagram Liz and I worked on yesterday: ...I brainstormed a bit on this and wanted to make another "phases of PL work" d..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
zengirl2 "Haha, of course! #whyIlovePLfolks " | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren ":-) http://unterbahn.com/solidarity/ +1 barter! http://www.tradeschool.coop/about/ " | Read more » over 6 years ago
zengirl2 "@warren I do really like the Give Help/Get Help. I was just talking to an artist the other day and they said that exchange/barter is something that..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "Thanks @zengirl2 - yeah, i agree there are these two "attitudes" people might bring, and this particularly resonated with me on the "Ask a Question..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
zengirl2 "@warren I like how you are funneling people to where they are trying to get. I think so far my only issue is that it looks long from a scrolling pe..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "Yeah i was looking for that too... i forget in what thread we came up with that! " | Read more » over 6 years ago
liz "Can someone add in both the "Why write research notes" quad that we printed into notebooks, and Molly's graphic? I don't have time to find them. Th..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "Got some good input on placement of the Code of Conduct link and text via @shannon -- thanks! " | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "Thanks, Craig! Great feedback. For the "interests" we want to be sure not to pigeonhole people as "scientists" "activists" as PL is all about buil..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
caufenkamp "My thought, as a recent newcomer who was unfamiliar with Public Lab and Citizen Science, is that the How to Participate section in particular is wh..." | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "@zengirl2 @pdhixenbaugh @kgradow1 @sarasage what do you think of this? :-) " | Read more » over 6 years ago
warren "@stevie @gretchengehrke @liz -- this last diagram is a stab at explaining the site to newcomers; it's just a first step but thought you might have ..." | Read more » almost 7 years ago
warren "In light of all the work we've done to build out Q&A and activities on so many different topic and methods pages, I tried for a simplified diag..." | Read more » almost 7 years ago
warren "Testing comments @tester !! " | Read more » almost 7 years ago
ecta64 "I think this is a fantastic way to alleviate the problem of spam. " | Read more » about 8 years ago
liz "can i just say i am still really into this " | Read more » over 9 years ago
liz "this is so great! a very important step forward! " | Read more » over 9 years ago
patcoyle "Ingenious, seems like a great approach. " | Read more » over 9 years ago
karenv "Thanks to everyone for coming to visit us at the Jones River Landing! " | Read more » about 10 years ago
liz "You are a sassy Fastie indeed " | Read more » about 10 years ago